top of page


Nashville, TN - (August 25, 2023) - American Country Rock Band and Kentucky Music Hall of Fame Members, Exile announced the release of their new album, A Million Miles Later earlier this week at an exclusive invitation-only album listening party at the infamous Sound Emporium Studios in Nashville to a who’s who music industry crowd. The band shared stories about each of the new songs and paid homage to the co-writers and producers in attendance, along with many other team members behind making the project happen. This is the first album released with original music in over thirty years by the group. The new album is available for streaming and download

What makes a release unique can range from the style of music it is, the lyrics, the instruments used, or even the feeling in the studio while it was being written, when combined make songs uniquely an artist’s. Exile uses all of these elements to their advantage and it is what sets them apart and has been the glue to their longevity. The elements all play a part in setting the tone of their release’s overall storyline and why listeners form a real, lasting attachment to the music. A Million Miles Later is a perfect example of this technique.

“This was our most ambitious album project ever, 16 songs,” shared band member J.P. Pennington. ”It took about a year and a half to complete and was a total team effort. I feel like we covered a lot of ground genre-wise. We have all been influenced by many different styles of music and we tried to reflect that here. We’re very proud of it.”

“We are family and at times reading each other’s minds, a by-product of focusing with full intensity on a common goal for sixty years,” said Exile’s Steve Goetzman. “Each member is chosen for personality, as well as talent. We are good guys and help one another grow along these lines, keeping ourselves in check. Actually, we’ve covered far more than a million miles, but who is counting. This album is a summary of how we click. I feel a lot of gratitude!”

“It's very rewarding to be able to release a new product that we're proud of, particularly as we're celebrating our 60th anniversary,” commented Exile member Marlon Hargis.

“I think this is one of the best projects we’ve ever done,” stated Exile’s Les Taylor.

“The creativity has never stopped in this band,” related Sonny LeMarie of Exile. “While we are grateful for our past accomplishments, we’re still striving to create new music and new challenges. This 60th anniversary project, ‘A Million, Miles, Later,’ from the writing and recording, has been a joy from start to finish. We can’t wait for fans to hear it!”

A Million Miles Later Track List:

1. A Million Miles Later (J.P. Pennington, Sonny LeMaire, Sharon Vaughn)

2. Too Far Gone(J.P. Pennington, Sonny LeMaire)

3. After You (Sonny LeMaire, J.P. Pennington, Paul Jefferson)

4. Daydreamin’ (J.P. Pennington, Suzie Pennington, Jessie Pennington Brassfield, Chadley Brassfield)

5. Keep On Pushin’ (J.P. Pennington, Sonny LeMaire, Sharon Vaughn)

6. Valentine Sky (Sonny LeMaire, Sharon Vaughn)

7. Nothin’ But A Thang (J.P. Pennington, Sonny LeMaire, Sharon Vaughn)

8. Paint The Town (J.P. Pennington, Sonny LeMaire, Sharon Vaughn)

9. This Ain’t Nothin’ (J.P. Pennington, Sonny LeMaire, Sharon Vaughn)

10. Rough Around the Edges (J.P. Pennington, Les Taylor, Larry Cordle)

11. Nothin’ But Sunshine Now (Sonny LeMaire, Clay Mills, Mark Selby)

12.Never Lets Go (J.P. Pennington, Sonny LeMaire, Sharon Vaughn)

13. Down In Cold Water feat. The Isaacs(J.P. Pennington, Sonny LeMaire, Sharon Vaughn)

14. Just To Get Home (J.P. Pennington, Sonny LeMaire, Sharon Vaughn)

15. Sugar Free (J.P. Pennington, Sonny LeMaire)

16. Sixteen Tons (Merle Travis)

A Million Miles Later was produced by J.P. Pennington and Sonny LeMaire. It was recorded at Tower Station Studio in Lexington, Kentucky, The DAWg Houze in Gallatin, Tennessee and Country Q Studios in Nashville. Studio musicians included Steve Goetzman (drums), Marlon Hargis (piano, organ, synths, backing vocals), Sonny LeMaire (bass, DADGAD acoustic guitar, lead and backing vocals), J.P. Pennington (electric and acoustic guitars, mandolin, ukulele, keyboards, percussion, lead and backing vocals) and Les Taylor (acoustic guitar, lead and backing vocals).

Stay current with Exile on their website and social platforms Facebook, Instagram and TikTok. Stream and download their music on Spotify, Apple Music, Pandora, YouTube Music and more. Watch videos on their official artist YouTubechannel.

About Exile

Exile formed in 1963 looking to play small clubs in Richmond, Kentucky, but managed to top both the pop and country charts during their nearly 60-year-long career. Their most successful hit, “Kiss You All Over” spent four weeks at the top of Billboard’s pop chart in 1978. In the early 1980’s Exile started to focus on country music. During their run on the country charts Exile has successfully had ten No. 1 singles including “I Don’t Want To Be A Memory” and “Give Me One More Chance.” The hit song "Kiss You All Over" was used in the 1996 Adam Sandler movie “Happy Gilmore” and in the 2006 film “Employee of the Month.” They have toured with acts including Aerosmith, Fleetwood Mac, The Oak Ridge Boys, Kenny Rogers and The Judds. The 5 original Exile members re-formed in 2008 and continue to tour today. Current members of the band include J.P. Pennington, Les Taylor, Sonny LeMaire, Marlon Hargis and Steve Goetzman. 2023 celebrates 60 years for the band and the 45th anniversary of the hit song “Kiss You All Over.” The band looks forward to their most ambitious album project ever, A Million Miles Later, in August 2023.


bottom of page